Under the Water Wheel

20140228-104647.jpg

Sometimes images pull all kinds of things to the surface of your mind, so with this one the Geena Davis movie The Long Kiss Goodbye bobbed up. It was a particular science where she is inevitably tie to a water wheel as a form of torture to illicit truths to the bad guys. I had this image in my mind of going under the water and seeing the river reeds all flowing in one direction with the river flow. It is a flow on from ” …of home” as I liked the colour texture and movement. I must add that the movie did not occur to me til I had finished the painting. Another thought that came to me was that emotions have revolutions, rarely are emotions held for long periods except those deadening feelings when the flow of emotion is halted against its natural direction. Maybe that’s where the river comes in, a water wheel us active exactly because it concedes to the natural direction of the river flow. The water wheel is situated in a liminal position half in half out if water, which is how I conceive of emotions half in half out of consciousness. Maybe that is where the movie metaphor comes in, emotions mediate our conscious sun conscious selfs in brining out truths. We own what comes up in that interchange and for someone else to demand those truths made them the “baddies”. We own our stories, they are precious, it takes a lot to put those storied out there in the public to be used by others for their own purposes. The difference between people using the stories for themselves is different to using them to make judgements on the original producers. Only I know the value and meaning of my stories to me. But others are welcome to entertain the same process I undergo for themselves.

Don’t make the mistake that you know me, I am far more complicated and far too many memories events and investigations to which you are not privy. Something you may say I make use of, but that does not give you expertise on the individual that is me.

2 thoughts on “Under the Water Wheel

Leave a Reply

